A bloggers writing block

When too much information and guidance stops productivity.

Over the last few weeks I’ve started many writing posts and then just as quickly I abandon them, or I’ve stared at a blank page, blankly.

Wordle Cloud of the Internet Marketing Blog - ...So what does a gal do? I google. And I come across some amazing sites that have dazzling and informative posts on how you should set up a blog, ideas for blog posts and the importance of discovering your niche.

The market for many of those posts are for writers who have a service or product to sell, often in copy writing  marketing and other similar non-fiction writing. Now there is nothing wrong in selling resources or your time, or in their blog advice, but being a newish blogger I find all this advice only confusing me more.

I’m a writer who writes educational non-fiction in my ‘day’ job and who writes YA novels on the side (one on it’s second draft, the other in it’s first draft, and scores of upcoming ideas) and I’m an artist, who is currently exploring how best to make money from her art.

So yes, eventually, I want to market these two novels, and others and sell my art when I’m ready, but right now I just want to set up a platform, get the feel of blogging, and find my way organically.

So where to now if I don’t yet have a niche or a goal for my blog? Interestingly, many of the blogs that now pose ‘find your niche,’ ‘find your tribe’ share through their blogs that they did exactly the opposite when they started out blogging, they posted without a goal or niche and over time discovered their niche and their readers.

Their sound advice is meant to prevent us from doing the same, taking the long route to success, but maybe for some of us who don’t have a clear vision yet for their blog, the ‘process or the journey’ is more important that the end product, ie a niche and a tribe.

In  my ECE teaching I learnt one of the key Maria Montessori philosophies that:

“It’s the process, not the product”. This means that what is most important is the process or journey it took to get there, the ideas, the thinking, the planning

, the experimentation, the problem-solving and the discovery, not the end product”.

Maybe we ‘adults’ need to remember this sometimes too. In the book I’ve just started reading, The Art of Possibility by Rosamund Stone Zander and Benjamin Zander, the authors suggest:

“When you are orientated to abundance, you may care less about being in control, and you take more risks…You may give away short-term profits in pursuit of a bigger dream; you may take a long view without being able to predict the outcome. In the measurement world, you set a goal and strive for it. In the universe of possibility, you set the context and let life unfold.

“…until you finally appreciate how hopeless it is to escape being shaped by the assumptions that underlie all of life…And when someone asks, ‘How are you?’ it may appear to you utterly ridiculous to try to assess yourself, or to express life as a struggle and a burden, and before you know it, the word ‘perfect’ may just pop out. And you will be smiling. For you will have stepped into a universe of possibility. Of course, you won’t have arrived.”

 Have you arrived yet? Do you have a destination in mind or are you setting the context and letting life unfold? 

Leave a Reply

